e d g e - education for disability and gender equity

CULTURE
CONTENTS

1
Introduction
2
Stereotyping
3
Disability in Media
4
Disability & Art
5
Charity Images
6
Telethons
7
News Media
8
Disability Culture
 
9
ACTIVITY
10
RESOURCES
   

RESOURCES

People

Organizations

Media

Video (You need the free RealPlayer to view these):

PEOPLE

King Gimp - Artist - http://users.erols.com/kinggimp/kg.html
and -
http://www.hbo.com/kinggimp/king/index.html

Woman with Juice: A Profile of Cheryl Marie Wade - http://www.brava.org/Pages/Archives/Juice.html

On A Roll Radio with Greg Smith - http://www.onarollradio.com

Crip Commentary - Laura Hershey's poems, columns, articles and art - http://www.cripcommentary.com

Heather Rose - Actor with Cerebral Palsy - http://www.disabilityfilms.co.uk/general1/dancemeto.htm

Celebrities with Disabilities - http://specialed.about.com/education/specialed/library/weekly/ aa122200a.htm

International and US artists with disabilities - http://nadc.ucla.edu/links.htm

Katie Lynch - Athlete (dwarf) - http://marathon.bostonherald.com/marathon/news/09651586.htm

Don Wardlow is a professional baseball announcer - http://www.sportsnote.com/this&that/00_6-17_matt20.htm

Nancy Becker Kennedy - Comedian and actor - http://www.geocities.com/Hollywood/Academy/5999/ The_Louie_Show.html#Nancy

ORGANIZATIONS

Accessible Society Project - http://www.accessiblesociety.org
Information and resources for journalists covering disability issues

Anti-MDA Telethon - http://www.nycilc.org/telethon.htm
Opposition to Jerry Lewis Telethon -- with opinions, analysis, and related links

Films Involving Disability - http://www.disabilityfilms.co.uk
List of films since early 1900s that have a character with a disability.

Integrated Arts - http://www.icomm.ca/iarts/
A disability arts organization housed in Oakland, CA. Our mission is to promote access to the arts and encourage social integration. We are building an environment where people, with and without disabilities, collaborate to develop innovative ways of producing and enjoying art.

Lemonade Factory - http://www.flash.net/~suffrn/lemlinks.html
A small press. Publisher of works by Mark O'Brien and Robert Mauro. Interesting links to disability sites on art and culture.

National Center on Disability and Journalism - http://www.ncdj.org/
Educating to improve fairness, accuracy and diversity of news reporting on disability.

National Disability Arts Forum - http://www.ndaf.org
Established in 1990 to foster equality of opportunity for disabled people in all aspects of the arts.

National Theatre of the Deaf - http://www.ntd.org/

United Nations - Human Rights and Disabled People - http://www.un.org/Photos/disabled.htm

MAGAZINES & JOURNALS

Disability Radio World Wide - Disability Radio Worldwide is a 30-minute weekly program broadcast by FM stations, radio reading services, over the Internet, and on shortwave radio
http://www.rfpi.org/disabilityradio/index.html

Disability Studies Quarterly - Research on disability stereotypes in media
http://www.cds.hawaii.edu/dsq/

New Mobility - http://www.newmobility.com

Ragged Edge - http://www.ragged-edge-mag.com


BACK arrow BACK
NEXT arrow

PhysicsGovernmentResearchHelp